Katedra – The Cathedral by Tomasz Baginski

This very short 7 minute animation caused a massive stir for me. I am; as everyone knows; obsessed with Cathedrals, espeically those painted by Beksinski, the Bone Churches (that’s my name for them, sadly all of them were untitled). After finding this movie by accident I could instantly see a connection to Beksinski’s work.

The short movie is from a Novel by a Polish author, I’ve never been able to find a copy translated into English so I can’t tell you more about that but I think the movie is possibly the beginning. It seems that after a pilgrimage to the Cathedral a lonesome man finds some kind of

  • “Katedra /The Cathedral”. Director and artwork: Tomasz Bagiński. Written by Tomasz Bagiński, Jacek Dukaj. Score by Adam Rosiak. Sound manager: Bartłomiej Woźniak. Produced by Jarek Sawko, Piotr Sikora. Voices: Jola Rzebuska, Maria Kucharska, Marcin Jaskowski, Piotr Widlarz. Produced by Platige Image, 2002, colour, 7 min.

Awards:

  • Academy Award nomination in the short animated film category
  • Best Animated Short at the Computer Animation Festival in San Antonio – Siggraph 2002
  • Main Prize at Animago 2002
  • Best Short Digital at Bradford Film Festival, 2002
  • Best of the Show at Festival Artfutura in Barcelona, 2002
  • Srebrny Lajkonik at the Cracow Film Festival, 2003.

I have a feeling that there is a much longer version of this I’ve seen a few DVD’s on amazon going for about £50 or so, I’m sure this isn’t a 7 minute animation… and I’m yet to find a copy of the book translated into English 😦

 

~ by Kisha on December 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

